Local Takeaway

Landspeed Records' Five Favourite Local Albums

We chat to the record store ahead of Record Store Day 2022

Every year, usually around this time of year, we music fans get to experience Record Store Day - a day to celebrate all there is to love about our local record store. From the merch they stock, to the promotional posters on the walls, and of course the rows of endless CD's and vinyl from Australia and beyond waiting for us to enjoy.

For me, that's Landspeed Records, located in the heart of the nation's capital. The vast majority of my record collection has come from Landspeed, going back nearly ten years ago when I bought my first (Horrorshow's King Amongst Many, a classic in my books) and bringing it home to my bedroom to display proudly on my bookshelf. I fell in love with vinyls and I feel in love with the places that stocked them. I could always count on Landspeed having what I was looking for, and having the ones I was pleasantly surprised to grab by hands on (Like finding Hoodlum Shouts' Horses & Human Hands last year).

This year on April 23rd, Record Store Day will be celebrating its fifteenth year. And so to celebrate that, we asked Blake Budak from Landspeed Records what his favourite local records have been in the past couple of years. Enjoy!

Witchskull - A Driftwood Cross (2020)

The third and best album from the Canberra doom metal trio. These guys are legends in the Canberra metal scene and members were previously in Armoured Angel and Looking Glass.

John Sharkey III - Shoot Out The Cameras (2021)

The debut solo album by Philly-born, Canberra-dwelling John Sharkey III. Sharkey comes from a punk/hardcore background but this record sees him get in touch with his country roots that were a big part of his upbringing in the US.

Moaning Lisa - Something Like This But Not This (2021)

The long-awaited debut album from Canberra (now based in Melbourne) indie rock band Moaning Lisa. Inspired by 90s bands like The Breeders and Pixies this album was well worth the wait!

The Burley Griffin - Lost Limbs (2021)

Recorded over several years this is the latest album for the Canberra indie folk band led by Evan Buckley.

Genesis Owusu - Smiling With No Teeth (2021)

Well this one should require no introduction!

The ARIA award winning debut album from Ghanaian-born Canberra raised Genesis Owusu is possibly the most successful album to come out of Canberra and is a genre mixing masterpiece!

Landspeed Records is one of many participating in Record Store Day this year. Check out the RSD website for a full list of participating stores and all the special releases coming out.